h1

Anna Wintour the Creative’s Blotter

March 31, 2010

I just watched “The September Issue” on Netflix and felt so moved that I thought I’d scuttle over to my 16 square feet of office space write-off and blog about it.

links to the preview

The ‘documentary’ is starts off with you in a face to face interview with the real “Devil (who) Wears Prada” while she explains that she thinks people may mock the fashion world but it’s because either they don’t understand it or they feel left out. You can’t tell if she really is an ice princess or the woman who has the hutzpah to put the “industry” in “fashion industry.” By the end of it, I thought the latter.

The scenes were almost all shot in HD and many were of beautiful sets and fashion shots. I suffered a 7 year addiction to Sex and the City and never give a hoot about haute couture but was enthralled with the presented story of how Vogue, no, Anna basically decides what products high-end and low-end stores alike will sell 5 months out.

I actually liked Anna and wouldn’t have a problem with her in person because I like her perfectionism. I think that by following her lead I could actually get along with all those fashiony-types whom she works with. They’re the ink and she’s their blotter.

Leave a Reply

