h1

Weekend Wrap-Up

September 10, 2009

It’s been a while since I described all my exciting weekend activities but I definitely got out and about this past Labor Day weekend:

I went to the 18th birthday party of my friend Sarah’s younger brother on Saturday down in Southern MD. We had a big group dinner of Surf n’ Turf that was delicious. My boyfriend Michael fixed up a recipe we got from our subscription to Gourmet Magazine, sautéed kale and kohlrabi. It was a hit! Sarah and her brother drove back with us to Arlington to hang out.

little green things: pistachios

little yellow things: pistachios

The next day, Sarah and I drove down to just south of the Belle Haven Marina to do an hour of cardio. I think the perfect place to park along GW Parkway if you want to avoid the traffic of the park by the marina and not be too close to the GW trail hills but also get the waterfront experience is here. So we parked and took my bike off the roof of my car while Sarah ran north ahead of me. I caught up with her and did interval sprints while Sarah jogged up to Old Town and back. In fact, I took the bridge to the Belle Haven neighborhood and did some hills (ok two hills). It was fun to ride by her slowly and tell her her speed based on my spedometer and hand off the waterbottle I was carrying. It’s too bad we forgot to bring a camera!
On Monday, Michael and I went to a cook-out at a friend’s place in Manassas. It was more of a cook-in due to the rain but it was good times and we met a bunch of new people. Michael brought another creation from Gourmet which was an interesting combination: watermelon and cucumber salad tossed in lime juice and mint along with mint tzaziki! I made the tzaziki, which I usually use dill. The mint stand-in was a new flavor for me and I still prefer dill, however the combination with the watermelon and cuc’s was fun and fresh – definitely a summertime recipe.
Michael with a fluff ball
We left the house early to stop by the Buttercup Farm to check out the new bunnies. Apparently, therewas an accidental “explosion” do to an incorrect sexing and unplanned pregnancy that occurred through wire cage walls. So there are over 40 rabbits on the cool farm that’s tucked away off Rt 66. The owner is very nice and she has a fan page on Facebook. We picked out two grey bunnies that are only seven weeks old to bring home. I posted some videos to Facebook and YouTube here. So far besides being super cute, they love to run in circles around my giant couch, sit on my lap during movies, and evade Michael when it’s time to go to bed. They are a blast.
Leave a Reply

