h1

Mirkin’s “Fastest Beans & Rice” Recipe Skips a Step

September 3, 2009

I looked at Dr. Gabe Mirkin‘s e-zine from August 16, 2009 and clicked on the link to the Recipe of the Week for “Fastest Beans and Rice,” interested to see how this old stand-by can be yummy and fast enough to be highlighted.

It sold me on the yummy he recommends cayenne, chili powder and parsley to add kick to flavor when you don’t have time to cut up sausage and veggies.

However, Dr. Mirkin’s shortcut for speed didn’t sell me on the “fast” – the reason this recipe is so quick is because it calls for pre-cooked rice! Sure, it’s fast…just like when I reheat leftovers! Since uncooked rice takes too long, I’d recommend parboiled (partially-boiled) rice like the kind that come in a box at the supermarket. This way you get yummy and fast without cheating :)

Not that I’m hating on Dr. Mirkin, mind you. I grew up listening to his radio show, which mostly focused on health topics for atheletes. I still follow him online and love to download his old shows as podcasts for my iPod lineup…it’s great info free from a smart doc. But, even the smartest doctor needs a second opinion sometimes!

I looked at Dr. Gabe Mirkin’s e-zine from August 16, 2009 and clicked
on the link to the Recipe of the Week for “Fastest Beans and Rice,”

interested to see how this old stand-by can be both yummy and fast
enough to be highlighted.

I’m sold me on the “yummy”. The recipe sounds delicious – he
recommends cayenne pepper, chili powder and parsley to add some kick
and flavor.

However, Dr. Mirkin’s shortcut for speed didn’t sell me on the “fast”.
The reason the recipe is so quick is because it calls for pre-cooked
rice! Sure, it’s fast … just like when I reheat leftovers! Since
uncooked rice takes too long, I’d recommend using parboiled
(partially-boiled) rice. You get yummy and fast without cheating!

Not that I’m hating on Dr. Mirkin, mind you. I grew up listening to

his radio show, which mostly focused on health topics for atheletes. I
still follow him online and love to download his old shows as podcasts

for my iPod lineup. It’s great info free from a smart doc! But, even
the smartest doctor needs a second opinion sometimes!

Leave a Reply

